MY HAIR CARE ROUTINE

Hey Ya’ll!

Welcome to my first blog ever, I am so excited that I am doing this!

So, many people have asked me about my hair care routine and the products I use, so here it is!

First thing, let’s be honest, we are all busy, I really wish that my hair were just effortlessly awesome, but that’s not the case and following a routine is damn hard. But, I love my long hair and follow my routine to the best I can.

  1. OILING

I have kind of dry hair and love to give my head a good oil massage a few hours before I wash my hair and that’s usually only possible over the weekend. I hate going out with oily hair, so, when I need to wash my hair during the week, I try to get some oil the night before.

I use coconut oil, it deals with split ends, nourishes hair and works best for me. A nice massage with some warm coconut oil, or any hair oil is so relaxing and improves blood flow in the scalp.

  1. HAIR WASH

I wash my hair almost twice a week, I wish I could do it more often but I have long hair and it takes forever to dry and I hate dealing with wet hair when I have to leave the house early. Also, my hair feels too dried out if I wash them too often.

unnamed (3)

3.SHAMPOO AND CONDITIONER

Time for the big reveal haha, I use Sunsilk shampoo and Schwarzkopf professional hair masque, it works good with my hair. I know there are so many options to choose from but stick to whatever works best for your hair type.

  • Steps to shampoo and condition your hair for best results- at least for me 😉 !

Step 1:  Take generous amount of shampoo, mix it well with water and pour it on your head and and spread it until it lathers and you know the oil’s gone. I usually only shampoo my scalp and not the hair length if I skipped oiling, this helps to not dry out my hair too much. Wash off the shampoo well and make sure that the entire product is out because it damages your hair otherwise. It’s a pain in winters but I wash my hair with cold/not too hot water, this helps to lock the moisture, basically, avoid getting as much heat as you can.

Step 2: Before applying conditioner or masque, I towel dry my hair just enough so the extra water is soaked up because conditioning dripping wet hair drains away the product. For my long hair, I divide it in two equal sections and apply the masque/ conditioner starting from the ends and make my way closer to the scalp for both sections. Avoid using conditioner on the scalp and roots as it can clog your follicles and slow hair growth and can even cause hair fall.

Step 3: I like to leave in the conditioners for a few mins for that extra hydration whenever I can, so, after applying the masque/conditioner, I tie my hair and leave them so for some 7 to 10 minutes for the conditioner to work its magic. Then I wash my hair until the product is completely out of my hair.

unnamed (1)

4: AFTER WASH

If I have enough time, I let my locks chill and take it’s time to dry, otherwise I use a hair dryer on a low heat setting. Pro tip while using a hair dryer- start with cold dry and increase the heat as your hair start to dry, this doesn’t much damage. Throwing high heat on wet hair is a big no no, I personally like my hair to be dried enough so I can manage them.

Try not to comb in wet dripping hair and use a wide tooth comb to detangle.

5: HEAT?

I straighten/blow dry/curl my hair occasionally, because we all want those different looks and make a statement, but I try to not do it very often, and whenever I do, I use heat protection lotion/serum so it doesn’t damage my hair too much. My natural hair is wavy and I usually keep it as it is.

unnamed

6: TRIMS

I know that most of you think that regular trimming helps in increasing hair growth but it didn’t please me enough so going against this popular belief, I go for trims in like once in 5-6 months or when I feel that the ends are very damaged or thin.

7: HEALTHY LIFESTYLE

If you are healthy inside, it reflects out on your skin and hair. I try to eat healthy, have lots of fruits and vegetables and drink lots of water. Drinking a good amount of water every day is very important for healthy skin and hair. Pro Tip: always carry a water bottle, you won’t believe it but you will end up drinking more water than you would otherwise.

That’s all folks!

I hope you enjoyed reading this post. Hit me up with any thoughts, suggestions or questions you might have in the comments section.

Until next time,

Xoxo.

Krishika Vashistha

 

28 thoughts on “MY HAIR CARE ROUTINE”

  1. This blog was very helpful ❤️keep making more such blogs .How do you manage to maintain that glow on your face make a blog on your skincare would love to read more such routine blogs 🌸

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment